Return to Headlines

South St. Paul selected as one of four school districts to receive financial award from Dakota Electric Association

Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019 — Dakota Electric Association selected the school districts of Lakeville, Randolph, Red Wing and South St. Paul as this year’s recipients of donations from the unclaimed capital credits fund. Dakota Electric awarded a total of $46,000 of unclaimed capital credit money to the schools, which will be used to fund specific educational projects and reach district goals.high five teacher and student photo

“We are happy to be able to provide financial support from unclaimed capital credits to these worthwhile educational programs,” Board Chair Jerry Pittman said. “We see the investment in ... as an investment in our future workforce.”

South St. Paul Public Schools (SSPPS) received $6,000 from Dakota Electric that it will use at Kaposia, Lincoln Center and SSP Secondary for advancements of the district’s Positive Behavior Intervention and Supports (PBIS) program. PBIS is a framework that assists schools in identifying and implementing research-based behavioral interventions in an effort to improve social and academic outcomes for all students. PBIS is based on the idea that students learn appropriate behavior through instruction, practice, feedback and encouragement.

“We are grateful for this gift from Dakota Electric and their commitment to supporting our schools,” said Superintendent Dave Webb. “These funds will help us continue our work in encouraging and rewarding positive behavior in ways that create a more safe and supportive learning environment for all students.”



About Dakota Electric Association
A customer-owned, non-profit utility since 1937, Dakota Electric Association provides electricity to more than 108,000 members throughout Dakota County and portions of Goodhue, Rice and Scott counties. Dakota Electric, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, serves its member-owners with integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community.