School Counseling Programs

  • school counselor We recognize that during the school year, there may be times where students and families need to get in touch with support staff in South St. Paul schools. Over the course of the year, students may share concerns or ask questions that may prompt parents to seek out additional support from school staff.

    Each building in the South St. Paul School District is equipped with staff who can help in these situations; in addition to the Counseling program in each school, our district also partners with community providers such as 360 Communities and the Associated Clinic of Psychology, among others. 

    Support staff in the South St. Paul Schools are equipped to assist you and your child with concerns related to bullying, abuse, trauma, alcohol or drug use, mental health issues, or any related topics. We encourage you to contact the support staff in your child’s building for additional information, resources, and assistance. As a district, we are committed to supporting all students and families. 

     

    South St. Paul Schools Support Staff

    Lincoln Center Elementary: 

    Heather Gysbers
    School Counselor
    (651) 288-5810
    hgysbers@sspps.org

    Jenna Kvalheim
    School Counselor
    (651) 288-5859
    jkvalheim@sspps.org

    Sarah Bergquist
    School Psychologist
    (651) 552-5570
    sbergquist@sspps.org

    Alicia Perez
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    aperez@sspps.org

    Visit Lincoln Center School Counseling page. 


    Kaposia Education Center:

    Travis Truhler
    School Counselor
    (651) 288-6892
    ttruhler@sspps.org

    Amber Remackel
    School Counselor
    (651) 288-6891
    aremackel@sspps.org

    Susan Thomas
    School Psychologist
    (612) 361-9322
    thomass@sspps.org

    Taylor Hoeschen
    ACP Therapist
    thoeschen@acp-mn.com

    Alicia Perez
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    aperez@sspps.org

    Visit the Kaposia School Counseling page.


    South St. Paul Secondary:

    Kelsey MacQueen
    Counselor for Grade 6-7
    (651) 306-3693
    kmacqueen@sspps.org

    Shiloh Johnson
    Counselor for Grade 7-8
    (651) 306-3688
    sjohnson@sspps.org

    Anne Price
    Counselor for Grades 9-12
    (651) 306-3654
    aprice@sspps.org

    Janessa Brackett
    Counselor for Grades 9-12
    Career and College Readiness Advisor
    (651) 457-9487
    jbrackett@sspps.org

    Karla Girardin
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    kgirardin@sspps.org

    Heather Mortel and Mollie Weeks
    School Psychologists
    (651) 457-9442

    Visit the Secondary School Counseling page.


    Community Learning Center:

    Robin O’Reilly
    Assistant Principal
    (651) 306-3686
    roreilly@sspps.org


    Community Resources

    Dakota County Crisis Line
    (612) 379-6363

    Dakota County Children’s Mental Health
    (952) 891-7459

    360 Communities 24-hour Violence Prevention Services
    1-800-336-SAFE