School Counseling Programs

  • school counselor We recognize that during the school year, there may be times where students and families need to get in touch with support staff in South St. Paul schools. Over the course of the year, students may share concerns or ask questions that may prompt parents to seek out additional support from school staff.

    Each building in the South St. Paul School District is equipped with staff who can help in these situations; in addition to the Counseling program in each school, our district also partners with community providers such as 360 Communities and the Associated Clinic of Psychology, among others. 

    Support staff in the South St. Paul Schools are equipped to assist you and your child with concerns related to bullying, abuse, trauma, alcohol or drug use, mental health issues, or any related topics. We encourage you to contact the support staff in your child’s building for additional information, resources, and assistance. As a district, we are committed to supporting all students and families. 

     

    South St. Paul Schools Support Staff

    Lincoln Center Elementary: 

    Heather Gysbers
    K-5 School Counselor
    (651) 288-5810
    hgysbers@sspps.org

    Jenna Kvalheim
    K-5 School Counselor
    (651) 288-5859
    jkvalheim@sspps.org

    Tim Giesbrecht
    School Psychologist (Gr. K-5)
    (651) 552-5570
    tgiesbrecht@sspps.org

    Sarah Heil-Brenny
    ACP (Mental Health Therapy)

    Janet Tarr
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    (651) 306-3652
    tarrj@sspps.org

    Visit Lincoln Center School Counseling page.

     

    Kaposia Education Center:

    Travis Truhler
    K-5 School Counselor
    (651) 288-6892
    ttruhler@sspps.org

    Tim Giesbrecht
    School Psychologist (Gr. K-5)
    (651) 306-6317
    tgiesbrecht@sspps.org

    Gabbi Lottie
    ACP (Mental Health Therapy)
    glottie@sspps.org

    Alicia Perez
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    aperez@sspps.org

    Visit the Kaposia School Counseling page.

     

    South St. Paul Secondary:

    Emily Jacobson
    Counselor for Grade 6
    (651) 306-3690
    ejacobson@sspps.org

    Shiloh Johnson
    Counselor for Grade 7
    (651) 306-3688
    sjohnson@sspps.org

    Kelsey MacQueen
    Counselor for Grade 8
    (651) 306-3693
    kmacqueen@sspps.org

    James Fischer
    Counselor for Grades 9-10
    (651) 306-3654
    jdfischer@sspps.org

    Mitchel Paulson
    Counselor for Grades 11-12
    Career and College Readiness Advisor
    (651) 457-9487
    mpaulson@sspps.org

    Katherine Perla - 360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    (651) 552-3094
    kperla@sspps.org

    Bonnie Theis
    ACP (Mental Health Therapy)

    Alex Carlson
    ACP (Mental Health Therapy)

    Visit the Secondary School Counseling page.

     

    Community Learning Center:

    Robin O’Reilly
    Assistant Principal
    (651) 306-3686
    roreilly@sspps.org

    Nick Fox
    Assistant Principal
    (651) 306-3405
    nfox@sspps.org

    Amber Pearson
    ACP (Mental Health Therapy)

    Katherine Perla
    360 Communities (Family and Community Support)
    (651) 552-3094
    kperla@sspps.org

     

    Community Resources

    Dakota County Crisis Line
    (612) 379-6363

    Dakota County Children’s Mental Health
    (952) 891-7459

    360 Communities 24-hour Violence Prevention Services
    1-800-336-SAFE